Kanchenjunga Trekking

Trek Code EN-024
Length 24 days
Max. Altitude 5140 m.
Type of Trek Camping
Trek Grade Hard
Commence Taplejung (Suketar)
End Taplejung (Suketar)
Group Size 2+
Permit KCAP (USD 30.00) + USD 10/person/week for the first four weeks and USD 20/person/week thereafter.

Kanchenjunga region is one of the unspoiled trekking trails in eastern Nepal opened in 1988 to trekkers. The sight of Kanchenjunga, seen from Pangpema, the north base camp is unforgettable, a worthy destination itself. Kanchenjunga trekking in Nepal  is the third highest mountain on the Earth. Habitation consists of only a few scattered villages. Musk deer and blue sheep are found here and for the believers, the Yeti. Panoramic views of Mt. Everest (8848m), Mt. Makalu (8463m) and Kanchenjunga (8598m) massif will make the trip worthwhile. A special trekking permit is necessary to trek in this region.

Suggested Itinerary:

Day 01: Kathmandu to Suketar (Taplejung) to Jogidanda (2059m): Fly for one and half hour, trek.
Day 02: Jogidanda to Chirwa (1800m): Trek.
Day 03: Chirwa to Sekathum (1650m): Trek.
Day 04: Sekathum to Amjilosa (2460m): Trek.
Day 05: Amjilosa to Yangswa (Gyabla/Kyapra) (2800m): Trek.
Day 06: Yangswa (Gyabla/Kyapra) to Ghunsa (3400m): Trek.
Day 07: Ghunsa to Rampuk Kharka (3800m): Short day trek.
Day 08: Rampuk Kharka to Khambachen (4100m): Trek.
Day 09: Rest day at Khambachen (4100m): Acclimatization.
Day 10: Khambachen to Lhonak (4760m): Trek.
Day 11: Lhonak to Pangpema: Trek.
Day 12: Pangpema to Khambachen: Trek.
Day 13: Khambachen to Ghunsa: Trek.
Day 14: Ghunsa to Sallerle: Trek.
Day 15: Sallerle to Tseram (3750m): Trek.
Day 16: Tseram to Ramche (4360m): Trek.
Day 17: Ramche to Oktang and back to Ramche (4360m): Trek.
Day 18: Ramche to Torontan (3080m): Trek.
Day 19: Torontan to Lamite Bhanjyang: Trek.
Day 20: Lamite Bhanjyang to Yamphudin (1650m): Trek.
Day 21: Yamphudin to Mamankhe (2000m): Trek.
Day 22: Mamankhe to Kharde Bhanjyang: Trek.
Day 23: Kharde Bhanjyang to Suketar (2420m): Trek.
Day 24: Suketar (Taplejung) to Kathmandu. Or fly to Kathmandu via Biratnagar.